Splitter Accident. 27 tons vs. a Finger

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

thebeatlesrgood

Aug 7, 2008
Northern MA
this is my first year to burning (well when i was a teenager i had a stove for about 2 years) but we just bought a new woodstove and ive been scrounging and splitting w/ a maul, about 3 or so cords. i just met a tree guy on craigslist and in a week i got 10+ cords and cant possibly keep up with him without a splitter, so i splurged and bought a 27 ton troy-bilt from lowes. its been going well for the last week ive split about 7 cords w/ the help from my brother, father, and some friends, and with the exception of a few scrapes and bruises we were incident free until today. me and my brother were splitting for about three hours and we had a good routine going (he's akin to working with his hands) then my friend decided to help who needless to say is not quite handy (no pun intended). not 45 seconds or 3 logs in he had the brilliant idea of sticking his fingers in the machine as i was splitting to reposition the wood before the log reached the back plate because the log was "slipping". and i hear "STOP" so i did and he lifted the mangled mess that used to be his middle finger :sick: . so i raced him to the hospital and the whole time i felt like saying "what the hell were you thinking" nobody should touch the machine except the operator, just hand me logs and pile the splits that i through off but DONT TOUCH ANYTHING when the machine is moving. I felt terrible though and i should have been paying attention to him but i was watching the front of the log. fort