Splitter rental...please help rookie...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Ram 1500 with an axe...

Minister of Fire
Mar 26, 2013
New Jersey
Hi all, I am learning a lot as I am still in my first year of CSS and of course Burning. I have been picking up small loads here and there as well as splitting what I can when I can but now it seems to be piling up a bit, I work a lot of hours so I'm doing hand splitting for exercise and fun. So my question is...If I rent a splitter for 4 hours, How many rounds do you think a person with no experience can split in say a realistic time frame of 3 hours, I'm not talking a fast pace, an average pace for an inexperienced person splitting.i have atleast 80 rounds of various stuff, some gnarly maple etc, so I will need to use a machine sometime. Should I wait to collect more? It's $80 for 4 hours. $115 for all day. I'm thinking the way I'm going, I may need to rent it for 4 more hours in September. as iI find these log loads on the street.
Thanks for all input...

1/2 cord an hour by yourself.....If you have help you could push close to a cord an hour. It all comes down to pulling the lever as often as you can. Someone stacking and feeding you rounds helps quite a bit.