Splitting Basics

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

kevinwburke

Nov 5, 2009
Central Mass
Apologies in advance as I am sure that this has been covered...but is there a thread or spot for the basics of splitting wood. I have some pines taken down and need to split. Complete newbie to splitting. I tried some searches but have not found basics.

Thanks.

Happy T Day

I don't know if there is, my first time my old man told me to put my feet in 5gal buckets for safety. Thought he was a loon till it cracked the bucket when i missed the block.

kevinwburke said:
Apologies in advance as I am sure that this has been covered...but is there a thread or spot for the basics of splitting wood. I have some pines taken down and need to split. Complete newbie to splitting. I tried some searches but have not found basics.

Thanks.

Happy T Day