SREC Prices/Education

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mbcijim

Mar 10, 2008
Schuylkill County, Pa
SREC = Solar Renewable Energy Credit
1,000 Watts Generated = 1 SREC = 1 Megawatt Hour = 1 MWh
PJM (the grid manager) monitors how much a solar system creates, and issues credits to the generator every month. It's done over the internet.

A little education (and keep in mind my background is Pennsylvania so my experience is based on our state).

Governments required Utility companies to produce so much of their power from renewable resources. And since utility companies are no longer power generation companies, they aren't building solar systems directly. They want the market to build them (solar systems) and they will buy the output. In this case it's the SREC and the electricity. Most times you will have a different buyer for each of the two components.

In Pennsylvania, the current mandate is for about 12,000 SREC's and goes up every July 1. Currently systems are installed that take us all the way through the state mandate of June 2013.