St. Croix - Auburn Help

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Jason Frost

Dec 2, 2013
Clifton Springs, NY
I apologize if some of these questions have been answered somewhere else in the forum. I ran a few searches and was not able to find any clear answers to my questions.

To give you a little bit of background, my wife and I purchased a house a little over a year ago and the house already had a St. Croix Auburn installed by the previous owner. I am extremely new to the world of multi-fuel / pellet stoves and I did my best to get through last winter, even if it was a little rough and frustrating at times. I have recently run into a couple of issues with my stove and I'm hoping that some of you with more experience can guide me in the right direction. I did notice that the previous owner installed the retro-fit pellet burn pot into the stove, but the original multi-fuel pot is still available. This leads me into a my questions...

1. I seem to have broken the rake in the burn pot. This happened because there is often build-up preventing the rake from moving. Eventually, likely due to my frustration and lack of knowledge, the weld that holds the threaded rod into the rake broke off. Should I buy a new one, or can I just utilize the original burn pot in place of the retro-fit one?

2. Is there any benefit to using one burn pot over the other?

3. My stove does not have the brick pieces in the back, just the flat metal. Are these something that is required in order for the stove to work properly, or it is just a cosmetic thing?