St, Croix Hastings (black soot)

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

bouffmike

Dec 21, 2009
Kittery Maine
This is my third year owning this stove, I did a self install and would say that I am confident that it is installed correctly 98%, the reason not 100% I am not a professional. Anyways this unit comes with a control board, I have not ever been able to figure out the feed trim or the draft trim, the only functions that I have mastered would be the ON/OFF button, The HEAT LEVEL, AND THE Thermostat functions.

I clean the stove every 6-8 bags this is about when my ash pan needs to be emptied I do a full vacuum and clean what-ever I can get at with my hands, a brush and the vacuum.

I have been experiencing a new problem this year and it's very early in the season, I am having a black thick soot build up in the stove and the burn pot seems to be getting filled with heavy black ash, also the outside of my house has a 3 foot diameter ash colored build up from the stove pipe.

I am using the same brand of pellets that I have used for the past three years, The stove is not hook up to a fresh air source, I did not need it so far.

I really need some help from an experienced owner of the same stove but if not I'll take any advice I can get.

Thanks Mike