1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

St.Croix revolution vacuum issue

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Beetle, Jan 23, 2012.

  1. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Running it that hard, does the distribution blower ever get a break? Or does it run constantly?

    Mine on Level 1 will be on for 10-15 min, off for 10-15 (depending on auger trim level). On level 2 its on for about 25 min and off for 5 minutes. Anything above level 2 and the blower never gets the unit below my 115* set-point. I run it on level 3 in T-stat mode. So when its calling for heat the blower is on. But when its idling, its on for 10-15 off for 10-15.

    Have it set to turn on around 170*-175* and off around 110*-115*...

    Have you ever measured your air temps out of the registers? Or out of the actual plenum? Just wondering if anyone else has done so? And what temps you were getting? And on what settings?
    I measure 10" off the top of the furnace inside the 10" duct and at the registers.....

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Beetle

    Beetle New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Loc:
    Northcoast ohio
    Keep in mind that this furnace calls for 4" pipe
  3. tjnamtiw

    tjnamtiw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4,054
    Loc:
    North Georgia
    This is actually pretty common industry practice when measuring vacuum with a sensing gauge in an area upset with other vacuum or pressure sources.. I think you are correct.
  4. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Does that mean you have 3" on it??

    And is it built as you described? In that order??
  5. Beetle

    Beetle New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Loc:
    Northcoast ohio
    no...4" on it.
  6. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,580
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
  7. Beetle

    Beetle New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Loc:
    Northcoast ohio
    yes...outside air
  8. Beetle

    Beetle New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Loc:
    Northcoast ohio
    here is my setup..

    Attached Files:

  9. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,580
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Then ambient air for your install is not what that sensor is sucking on.
  10. Beetle

    Beetle New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Loc:
    Northcoast ohio
    It is sucking on the ambient conditions of the basement air...not outside air, if that is what your asking..
  11. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,580
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Yes and with the OAK its ambient air to suck is the air outside not what is in your basement.
  12. Beetle

    Beetle New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Loc:
    Northcoast ohio
    this is the vacuum switch hose sticking out the side of the unit.

    Attached Files:

  13. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,580
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Yes I know but with an OAK that ain't where your air is coming from, in other words plug the hole or get a longer tube and run it out side.

    Did you folks get anything back from the folks that make the furnace?
  14. heat seeker

    heat seeker Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,127
    Loc:
    Northern CT
    I agree with Smokey - if the pressure in the basement is reduced by something, even the wind blowing, it will mislead the vacuum switch into thinking there's not enough vacuum in the stove.
  15. Beetle

    Beetle New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Loc:
    Northcoast ohio
    nothing from Even- temp. Based on what I have read I am not expecting them to respond...

    I will extend the tube outside, worth a shot. a little reluctant to just plug it.
  16. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,580
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Have your dealer talk to them, yeah, I know what I'm asking, just covering the bases.
  17. slangtruth

    slangtruth Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    64
    Loc:
    Western MA
    I think speculation as to where the reference to the vacuum switch is meant to be terminated should be left to the designers. Most stoves just have a switch, yes or no, and apparently since hoss's early number doesn't have it they started out that way here, too. They specifically changed it to have a floating reference, which they chose to just plop out into the ambient air outside the cabinet. It's not mentioned in the manual, and since as non-dealers none of us get to talk to Even-temp to ask for an explanation I'm hesitant to go dicking around with it. Beetle's empirical testing (he temporarily blocked it and the vacuum switch settled down) is evidence of something, but still needs proper explanation.

    I said upthread that in my case I suspected I had too much vertical pipe outside the heated area. I had mentioned it to the HVAC guy who initially fixed my dealer's bad install. He pulled up earlier today and lopped a few extra feet off my outside vertical run, while keeping to local code (locally it has to terminate x inches above average annual snowfall, and also above the OAK inlet, which for me is the same thimble as the exhaust vent). We'll see if that has an effect when it's near zero out. It's not even running right now, it's 50 degrees outside. He and I both looked through the book backwards and forwards to find any sort of specification for maximum venting length, and it's just not there. My venting looks like this

    double-tee cleanout at stove
    about 3' vertical
    45 degree angle
    about 1'
    45 degree angle
    5 or 6' horizontal with rise, goes through the wall
    double-tee cleanout
    now 2' (was 5 or 6') vertical
    90 degree to cap

    With no published spec as to how much venting is allowed it's tough to know whether or not this is too much. A furnace is not like a living room stove and placement options are always going to be more limited, especially in an old building like mine where the first source of central heating was coal. The coal (now oil) furnace is dead center under the building to keep the duct runs as short as possible. No better path for my venting is apparent.
  18. slangtruth

    slangtruth Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    64
    Loc:
    Western MA
    When it's running at 4 or 5 my dist. blower is pretty much on constantly. Running at idle when it's warmer out, it cycles on and off. Measuring at registers isn't all that helpful across installations, since duct loss and ambient temperature are so much a factor. I did play with it a bit when I was trying to find the sweet spot for the damper, and at my farthest register (which goes through about 6' of 8x12 trunk also feeding four other registers, then about 10-12' of 6' sheet metal ducting, all uninsulated) with heat setting on 1 I could expect 70-75 degrees an inch or so above the register on a day with moderate 35-40 outdoor temps.
  19. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,580
    Loc:
    Standish, ME

    hoss has a vacuum switch on his furnace, his switch doesn't need a reference line which it appears the newer ones do, in which case the reference must be to the burn air source. In the case of a unit with an OAK that would be the outside air and never the inside air.

    I also asked that both the manufacturer and the dealer be contacted.

    No matter how one cuts it the use of an improper reference point is just that improper.

    If a manufacturer doesn't want to answer a question from the owner then you go through the dealer, if the dealer doesn't want to answer or forward the question then I guess you are sol.
  20. hossthehermit

    hossthehermit Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,372
    Loc:
    Maine, ayuh, by gorry
    At some point this weekend I'll have it down for cleaning anyway, and have some spare time. I'll try to remember to pop the side cover off and look at the vac switch, it may just sit there, or have a hose that terminates inside the surround.
  21. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,580
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Have you got an OAK on your furnace hoss?
  22. slangtruth

    slangtruth Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    64
    Loc:
    Western MA
    Except using the inside air as a reference is exactly how Even-temp set it up. I can't be of any help - my dealer and I are not speaking. Hopefully Beetle's dealer will be willing to chase it down for us.
  23. hossthehermit

    hossthehermit Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,372
    Loc:
    Maine, ayuh, by gorry
    No, I don't.
    A. It would have too far to run, 14' horiz., 6' vert., 2 - 90's
    B. It would have to run directly over my pellet stash
    C. It would be in my way
  24. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,580
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Ok, just thought I'd get the ducks lined up.

    Now I'm going to take your excellent advice hoss and go get a slice of Mrs. Bear's mincemeat pie and a cup of coffee.
  25. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,580
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    That sometimes happens between customers and dealers, certainly makes things more than a bit problematic.


    I know that Even Temp set it up that way but things have been known to be incorrect from the factory. Then down the road after much gnashing of teeth things get straightened out until the next new thing comes along, lather, rinse, repeat.

Share This Page