Stacking and storing 101?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Aug 23, 2014
Central O-hi-o
I am sure it has been covered ad nauseum but can't find something like The Complete Moron's Guide to Putting One Log on top of Another.

What to encourange, what to avoid, common mistakes, and the sure guide to cozy warmth?

I'm new to this whole thing. I have some new stuff cut down this year but it had been standing dead for a couple years before that at our new place. Emerald Ash Borers decided what we should cut down. Some was standing in a shadier area and one in an open field so it seems very dry.

Thoughts and guidance? Thanks!

I'm not an expert but I have found dead standing wood with bark gone will be below 20% in a summers time,(6 months) stacked out in the open with full sun.

Well there are no hard and fast rules. If you want to avoid a lot of creosote and chimney cleaning, you'll need to burn seasoned wood. Burning it wet is what leads to chimney fires, plus it just wont burn all that well until you can get the fire really cranking. Although, ash burns excellent wet - but you'll want to keep an eye on the chimney.

Heat, airflow, and time are your main drying agents. The more, the better. You'll also want to keep it off the ground, unless you want to end up with a pile of compost.

A moisture meter is a great tool, and they're cheap. Green wood will be in the 30's, properly seasoned is low 20's or below.