stainless chimney length,damper and Summers Heat 13

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Pilgrimfarm

Dec 15, 2010
Nc
I am new to the EPA stove burning. I have a new stainless chimney which is 16 feet from top of stove to the rain cap. I have a fairly flat roof and low ceilings. I currently have an old Virginian hot box. The chimney drafts fine it appears as I have no smoke in the house and I have a good draft up the chimney. What is the chimney rule? I am adding a new Summers Heat 13 stove tomorrow and wondering if i need to add a damper in the pipe when I am exchanging the stoves. I found this stove new at a great price and from my research I assume it is the same as an Englander nc13. The more I read the more complicated it seems to burn these EPA stoves. I hope I can get the thing to work. I have some really dry wood and a good draft so, crossing my fingers.
Sean

Congratulations Pilgrim. You've bought a very good heater. If your chimney is 6" in diameter, & straight up, you'll be just fine with that height. You shouldn't need a damper unless you have an overdraft problem. Typical system (stove & chimney together) design height is 15' from the bottom of the stove to the top of the chimney. It's better being a little taller than being a little short. Provided you meet the 3, 2-10 rule & meet all required clearances you should be golden.

3, 2-10: 3 ft is the minimum height of the chimney where it exits roof, and it must be 2 ft above any portion of the roof within a 10 ft radius.