Start up problems

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Newtothepelletstove

Oct 24, 2016
PA
Hi Everyone

I just installed my first stove, Harman Accentra, and on start up got some smoke building up which I have read is normal. Problem is it started to seep out. The entire firebox was filled with smoke and appeared to be swirling around. I shut it down and walked outside to check to make sure I was getting some out of the vent and I could smell it. I was thinking it seemed like the blower wasn't working but I'm new to this. Any help would be appreciated

Reactions: Tegbert
Hi Everyone

I just installed my first stove, Harman Accentra, and on start up got some smoke building up which I have read is normal. Problem is it started to seep out. The entire firebox was filled with smoke and appeared to be swirling around. I shut it down and walked outside to check to make sure I was getting some out of the vent and I could smell it. I was thinking it seemed like the blower wasn't working but I'm new to this. Any help would be appreciated
on start up, my Harman P61A does the same thing as far as lot of smoke swirling around after the pellets get lit. [Sometimes the blower comes on right away and there is no smoke buildup]
this goes on for a short 10-20 seconds or so and then it clears up as the Exhaust blower kicks on, starts sucking out the smoke, and all is clear again.
this is normal.... but, any smoke coming or seeping out of the stove inside the house IS NOT....