1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Stat fails to work. :(

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by letsblaze, Nov 18, 2012.

  1. letsblaze

    letsblaze Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    304
    Loc:
    40 minutes north of Grand Rapids
    I just hooked up a old school non digital Honeywell stat up to my englander pulled the jumper wire and put the stat feed wires in and I have no stove change when I click the temp up. [​IMG]

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Harvey Schneider

    Harvey Schneider Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,175
    Loc:
    Southbury, CT
    I have to ask. What do you expect to happen?
    With the 25 pdvc, if the stat is calling for heat the stove should run at the burn setting on the control panel. When the stat is satisfied the stove will go to the settings determined by the LFF and LAF buttons at the bottom, as if it is burn setting 1. The panel does not announce the change. The only way you will know that anything happened is to watch the fire for a while (don't get hypnotized) and see that the fire really did go to low burn.
  3. letsblaze

    letsblaze Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    304
    Loc:
    40 minutes north of Grand Rapids
    I was under the impression that the blower would go down to 1 when the feed when to 1.
    It's seems to be working as its supposed to do minus the blower changing levels which is alright since it rarely kicks up in these temps and the blower on 5 with it lugging on heat 1 (bottom 3 are currently 2-2-1) I can run 24+hours on a bag of pellets. :)
  4. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,590
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Nope, Mike has mentioned this several times and I suspect the manual also speaks to it. Only the firing rate changes.
    letsblaze likes this.
  5. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Yep... Blower wont change.

    But you also dont need to run 9-9 like the manual states.

    If you want to run 5-6 (5 heat- 6 blower) then run it. The stove runs on whatever settings you have it set for, when calling for heat. Then goes to Heat level 1 and the blower stays at the selected range.

    So if you ran 4-5. The stove would run 4 heat and 5 blower until stat is satisfied. Then heat goes to 1 and blower stays at 5.
  6. letsblaze

    letsblaze Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    304
    Loc:
    40 minutes north of Grand Rapids
    I'm currently running on 4-5 for now. that will probably change as the temp does.
  7. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,590
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    I'm running 1- for low and 2 for high in hi/low mode and it will change as the outside temperature changes.

Share This Page