State of the Pellet Industry

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

garys314

Oct 10, 2007
I am a long time user of Pellet Stoves. I have been using them for ten years. For the past several years there have been shortages in the supply of pellets. I have electric heat and use two pellet stoves as the main heat source. The predictability of pellet availability is ridiciulous. I have had suppliers promise me supply is no problem only to be burnt each time.

I see stores selling stoves but not able to deliver pellets. How can this go on. Also, have had several maintenance problems with my older insert. There is a shortage of people who can service these stoves. First go around i had to wait three weeks for someone to fix my stove.

With sales of stoves booming i only see things getting much worse. I would love to hear what other people think on the subject.

Gary

garys314 said:
I am a long time user of Pellet Stoves. I have been using them for ten years. For the past several years there have been shortages in the supply of pellets. I have electric heat and use two pellet stoves as the main heat source. The predictability of pellet availability is ridiciulous. I have had suppliers promise me supply is no problem only to be burnt each time.

I see stores selling stoves but not able to deliver pellets. How can this go on. Also, have had several maintenance problems with my older insert. There is a shortage of people who can service these stoves. First go around i had to wait three weeks for someone to fix my stove.