Steps To Make Quadrafire Classic Bay 1200 Run

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Rftech53

Dec 2, 2018
East Central Iowa
All, I'm on my phone and haven't checked to see if this might already be in the forum. If so I apologize.

I had new CB1200 installed in late November. I've had a couple occasions where the pellets don't feed for whatever reason and I have to hit the reset button. I'm using Menards pellets which seem to have a good reputation here in Iowa.

I'm an electronics engineering technician by trade and a ham radio operator. I like to know how stuff works so I can troubleshoot.

Since it seems impossible to reach the manufacturer, is there a troubleshooting chart or flowchart that takes a person from step one to fire, then to shutdown, that would help a guy troubleshoot what all has to happen for the stove to work ... both from an electrical and vacuum perspective?

I do know about the magnetic switch on the hopper lid.

Quads are known to "misfire".I know little about them,there is a great Quad guy here,he will check in.And,welcome. KF7BBL

Johneh, I do have a manual. I was looking more for something like:

1. The thermostat calls for heat.
2. The control board checks for "this and this and this" to be closed, and if those are all met, the combustion fan starts up.
3. Then as long as the hopper door magnetic switch is closed and the vacuum line to the auger motor is not plugged, the auger gets energized and begins to turn.
4. and so forth ...

Also, I've heard tell of control board LED codes. But with the board inside a metal box how do you see the codes?