sticker shock on ZC woodburning fireplace

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Cincinnatux

Dec 16, 2009
Cincinnati, OH
I'm new to the whole wood-burning thing, and have benefited tremendously from the information made available in this forum. I wanted to share some information that shocked me when I first came face-to-face with it, in case other neophytes like me want to deal with the sticker shock before making early planning decisions.

A lot of folks wonder which unit they should buy, and it tends to come down to three fundamental considerations:
1. fuel choice
2. square footage of space to heat
3. budget

Many of us were unaware just how fluid #3 could become, even without getting fancy. Consider, for example, the estimate I received for the installation of a BIS Tradition with outside air kit:

1. $950: Cost to remove existing (FUBARed) 20-year-old unit
2. $4079: Cost (MSRP) of BIS Tradition
3. $396: Cost (MSRP) of basic facade surround for the BIS Tradition
4. $743: Cost (MSRP) of the cheapest door option for the front of the BIS Tradition
5. $450: Cost for the gravity vents to allow me to direct some heat through a wall to the room behind the BIS
6. $1,200: Cost for chimney piping (Class A air-cooled piping, 20')
7. $350: Freight charge.
8. $1200: Installation charge
9. $1400: finish work (stone fascia)