stihl 025 chain stretched

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Jaamz

Feb 2, 2007
I have been using my 025 since about 6 years now. I mostly use it for cutting downed trees, limbs, and logs for my firewood. I've carefully maintained it to the best of my ability. It is in sound working order overall, but the chain adjuster is maxed now, so I cannot adjust the slop out any longer. Do I buy a new chain, or do I take a link out to shorten the chain? I tried to find a diy article on this and all I found was someone's diy press for removing links. I really don't want to invest in a press for maintaining one saw. Do I need a press, or can I take it out with a punch and a hammer?

diyguy said:
I have been using my 025 since about 6 years now. I mostly use it for cutting downed trees, limbs, and logs for my firewood. I've carefully maintained it to the best of my ability. It is in sound working order overall, but the chain adjuster is maxed now, so I cannot adjust the slop out any longer. Do I buy a new chain, or do I take a link out to shorten the chain? I tried to find a diy article on this and all I found was someone's diy press for removing links. I really don't want to invest in a press for maintaining one saw. Do I need a press, or can I take it out with a punch and a hammer?

Chains are cheap, buy a couple new ones. I think its safe to say you got your life out of that one.