1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Stihl 026 chain oil adjustment

Post in 'The Gear' started by kubatob7500, Oct 4, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kubatob7500

    kubatob7500 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    Central, Pa
    I found were to adjust but do not see adjusting screw.

    Any suggestions?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. smokinj

    smokinj Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    15,969
    Loc:
    Anderson, Indiana
    i dont think it would come out is there sawdust cake in hiding it?
  3. kubatob7500

    kubatob7500 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    Central, Pa
    Hole is open, I can see a pipe with a arrow on it, but I do not see a adjustmnet screw like instruction book says?
  4. Saw-dust

    Saw-dust New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Loc:
    Arkansas
    I did not think that the Sthil 02x saws had an oil adjustment.
  5. kevin j

    kevin j Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    550
    Loc:
    minnesota us
    Std 026 (and I think 260) were not adjustable. 026 Pro and 260 Pro were adjustable.

    FWIW, my old 026 oils well. My newer 280 non adjustable is stingy, half as much oil. Maybe ok for EPA, but not good for longer bars.
  6. Saw-dust

    Saw-dust New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Loc:
    Arkansas
    wow, I learn something every day here. This 440 is the first Sthil I ever had with an oil adjustment. I checked it out and it was maxed. It oils just fine even with the big bar so I'm good.
  7. Iembalm4aLiving

    Iembalm4aLiving Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    260
    Loc:
    N.E. Ohio
    The adjuster screw on my MS290 is pretty deep in the hole (can't see it.) Put a small screwdriver in there and feel around for the screw.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page