Stihl 029, chain catching in the bar on the underside

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

blthomas

Oct 14, 2006
Culpeper, VA
I'm by no means a total newb, but I'm pretty darn far from a pro too.

I've got a Stihl, like in the title above. Had it since 1998. God knows how much wood she's cut for us and family over the years.

I just picked up a new Rollermatic bar for it as the old bar was worn out.

The chain is pretty new, couple months old, but barely used.

I set this chain up the only way I ever have, and it catches right at the end of the bar, behind the toothed wheel on the underside.

Almost every other cut. Pretty dang irritating when your trying to get something done and you gotta keep dropping the bar to get the chain out.

I looked at the runner teeth to see if they were burred, maybe one or two were and might be catching in the channel.

Doesn't seem so.

Am I running the chain too loose?

Or too tight?

I certainly haven't changed the ways I do things. Not wild or anything while running her.

The bar doesn't appear to be defective, crimped or whatever.

As far as tensioning the chain, here is my procedure, call me on whatever needs to change:

Unset chain brake.

Loosen bar retaining nuts.

Hold up the end of the bar with my freehand, watching the chain, screw in adjustor screw taking slack out until the runner teeth are just about 100% in the bar groove on the bottom.

While still holding up the bar by the end, I tighten the bar retaingin nuts.

Done?????

Any insight would be great. This is my favorite time of year to be out cutting........