Stihl 029 compared to Stihl MS290

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

MontanaBob

Dec 5, 2008
Western Montana
Ok. This is my first year with a wood burning stove and you know once in a while something exceeds your expectations and certainly this experience with our Englander 13 has! Now for part 2 of wood burning fun: chainsaws.

I have used my 14" Craftsman 36cc for 15 years now for general use. While this saw has been awesome it is time for something bigger/better. I have read a ton of posts (thanks for all the advice) and narrowed my choices partly be our small town limitations to Husky Rancher (box store), Echo cs-400 (box store) and Stihl many choices (only local saw dealer in our town). I will be cutting about 3 cords per year of 10-14" diameter pine out here in the Rockies. I am 40 and in good shape. $300 - $400 is about my max. The Stihl dealer reccommended the MS290 Farm Boss which retails for $379. Now for my long-winded question: I have the opportunity to purchase a Stihl 029 20" bar, used very little about 10 years old for $150. Great price I believe, but does the re-named MS 290 have any performance or safety advances the 029 did not have? While I love a deal, I do want to sacrifice performance and safety. Thanks....

get the 029 and save your hard earned money. no need to spend 250+ dollars on crap you'll never notice between the two saws. buy an extra couple of chains, maybe a longer bar, and feel good you are money ahead. Or, jump on the bandwagon and go buy a dolmer or dolmar or whatever. everyone else is.........