storage btu capacity rough calculation?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

pybyr

Minister of Fire
Jun 3, 2008
Adamant, VT 05640
Hello all-- I'm no engineer or HVAC pro, although I'm try to learn as much as I can--

can you all confirm if I am on the right track in trying to get a rough idea of how many BTUs a given size water storage will hold (setting aside losses)

assumptions...

One BTU= heat to raise a pound of water 1 degree Farenheit -- means 8 BTUs raise a gallon of water one degree

then, assuming a maximum tank temp of 180 deg F and a minimum useful tank temp of 120 degree F = 60 degree swing of tank
then, assmuing a 1000 gallon tank
8 BTU/ gallon-degree * 1000 gallons * 60 degree swing
= 480,000 BTUs stored

am I on the right track here or have I committed some silly oversight?

Thanks

Looks correct, but you should probably use 8.34 as the number of pounds per gallon of water. That would give you just over 500k BTUs.

Just remember that at sea level, water at 1 atmosphere holds 1 Btu/lb per degree of temperature. Your expected temperature difference between your supply and return should give you your usable energy (minus losses of course).

Your calcs look basically right but as pointed out water is 8.34 lb/gallon.

I'm always amazed at the extra usable btus you get when you have infloor radiant heat, simply because you can get by with much cooler water. It's all in the math, I guess.

Eric Johnson said: