Storing and Moving Pellets

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

offingmoot

Jul 15, 2008
Central/South Jersey
I am a newb here and trying to figure out the best possible storage/moving solution. Over on iburncorn they are really hard core about screening and moving corn....i have researched here as well

i will store the pellets 2-3 tons in my basement, i cant get bulk delivery so it will be 40# bags, and there is no forklift delivery either so i have to deal with 100 bags in my backyard off a pallet
there is easy access to my bilco doors via the driveway that wraps around the back of the house
i need to get the bags down the steps for storage and then ultimately upstairs at the opposite side of the house to my quad santa fe insert
i want to keep handling the pellets to a minimum to prevent breaking etc. i also want to minimize dust cause my girl is allergic to everything, and loading into the stove has to be easy for her as well she's not strong enough to lift a 40#bag

i am considering setting up a pipe system into a hopper in the basement, so i can dump each bag outside and use the cornvac to vacuum them down, then all i need is a 5 gallon bucket and i can haul the pellets upstairs and into a storage container near the stove that my girl can use a scooper with. do i need an airtight hopper to keep moisture out?

the simpler option is to make a plank out of plywood and sheathing to slide the bags down my stairs and just empty them as needed into a bucket and haul upstairs but not sucking any dust

what do you all do? any suggestions??