Storing Pellets - Long Term

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

heb80

Feb 14, 2008
Harrisburg, PA
How long can pellets be stored for? If you can get a decent deal and have the space, is it a bad idea to stock up on pellets for several winters? Will the summer humidity deteriorate the pellets summer after summer?

I'm no expert on pellets but I would think that if stored in a low humidity environment and not exposed to large and fast temperature swings (which would create condensation inside the bags) they would last indefinately.

That's a good question, something I'm real interested in. How about storing them for just one year also, how will that effect the pellets? With the thought of pellet prices skyrocketing my plan was to buy now for the next heating season, but the whole humidity thing is a concern of mine too.

I've carried pellets over to the next winter and they were fine but I wouldn't buy multiple years worth.

Not sure what more than one summers worth of humidity would do.

Storing wood pellets for long periods should not be a problem if stored properly. Most pellet manufacturers store inventory outside and if wrapped properly hold up very well. Mor than likely if you purchase wood pellets in November they could have very well been produced in April or earlier, that dwell time will decrease as the season continues. Generally now is the best time to buy your pellets if you have a good place to store them as they should be fresh and you will be in control of how they are stored.