Stove in the fireplace

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

LehighGuy

Nov 15, 2014
Bethlehem, PA
I am trying to put a wood stove inside my fireplace. The clearances on all side are ok. The chimney is an interior masonry, 13" by 13", and is approximately 27' long from the fireplace. Do I need to run the 6" stovepipe all the way through the chimney, or can I just bring it in the chimney and let the end loose? I have been burning wood in this and another fireplace in the house with no problems, and the chimney was cleaned recently. Thank you for any advice, I am new to the world of stoves.

Yes, you will need a full liner of the dimension required by the stove. A fireplace's requirements are very different from a stove's. I'm not sure what stove will be for but the majority these days have 6" flues with some larger stoves being 8". Both sizes rely on good draft to perform correctly. Spilling a 6" flue into a 13" flue is going take it from ~28 sq in to 169 sq in or a 6X increase! That will totally kill draft. Imaging trying to drink from a 3" straw instead of a 1/4" straw.

Thank you begreen for the quick reply. If you can bear with a followup question, at "some" point the pipe goes to open air; if not 2' into the chimney, a few feet higher at the top of the chimney. What is the difference? Just trying to understand the physics of this.