Stove issue?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

CiscoKid

Oct 4, 2009
Eastern PA
I just got my first wood stove (an Avalon Perfect fit ) installed 2 days ago. I will admit I’m a total newbie to woodstoves, but I’ve done a lot of reading (mostly here!) and video watching to try to learn a bit. My 1st 2 fires haven’t gone very well at all, though. Despite leaving the air control pushed in all the way (full open), the fire never seems to get going very well unless I keep one of the doors open. With the door open, it starts burning well – lots of flame, etc. When I close the door, the fire really dies down to almost hot coals with little flame. Is this something I’m doing wrong, or does the air control need some kind of adjustment (other than pushing/pulling the lever).