Stove Pipe Question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Jerid

Sep 29, 2014
Muskego, WI
Hello, I am new to wood burners, etc...

I have a Majestic 98-1800 Franklin Heater

She is in good shape and last year was our first year in the house.

Had a chimney company come out and clean the chimney and check everything out with the video camera. He stated that the 2 elbows had a year left due to rust, etc… and he'd replace them the following year.

So this year they came out to clean and I purchased some elbows from hardware store beforehand. Figure they can put new ones on when they clean/inspect.

Well they were too short so he said to just buy a longer pipe, reconnect, and use more screws because it had a total of 3 being used. Sounds easy, but I second guess a lot and rather be safe.

This is 8inch, single wall. The elbows that were on there are solid, not adjustable. The ones I got move around (adjustable).

So here are my questions:

1. Does smoke escape from these adjustable ones? They just seem cheap to me for quality.

2. How many screws should I use where they connect? Just standard sheet metal screws?

3. Another option I thought of was this piece that is about 12 inches long and angles slightly from the top, to a 90 elbow, to a 90 elbow, into the straight one that’s there. Looks like I would need to cut about 6 inches of the straight pipe --- or is that too many pieces connected?