Stove rehab question?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

BobUrban

Minister of Fire
Jul 24, 2010
Central Michigan
I was given this stove and am in the process of rehabing it. It is in great shape and all I am doing is hitting it with a wire brush on an angle grinder. Lubricating the pins and rebuilding the handles. I have access to a welding shop and am a welder and fabricator by trade. I have included the new handles I built yesterday to replace the broken, missing junk wood ones that were there.

My question is: Is the suppose to be a grate or elevated rack for the wood/logs to lay on? The bottom of the stove has ribs that will allow some air under the wood but I was not sure if there was a grate in there at one time or not? I could build a nice one rather easily but was also thinking of lining the bottom with fire brick and calling it good.

Tell me what you think or any opinion on this little Franklin knock off?

Thanks - Bob Urban
Stove.jpg

Stove006.jpg

Stove005.jpg

Stove004.jpg

Stove003.jpg

Stove002.jpg

Stove001.jpg

Ah, it looks like you have a knock off of an old VC Defiant. There will be no log rack or grate in the bottom - just add about an inch of playground sand and build your fire directly on that.

I wonder if the grill in front is considered an andiron?

That grill in front is bolted in place??? Not real sure what it is there for other than safety? It do have a cheesy screen that fits in the front doorway but it will never be used.

Thank you for the help with my base. I am so looking forward to warm wood heat this winter

Bob Urban