Stove temp. Creosote?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

dcouture29

Aug 11, 2009
Midcoast maine
Just bought a new Non Cat VC Encore for my new house. I'm new to the wood thing. I've had it going for 2-3 weeks. I've been burning medium fires. My issues are that it takes 1 to 1 1/2 hours to get the thermometer to read 250-275 deg. (I had it get to 450-500 once and it's because the stove was full and the damper was open for a long time.) If I shut the damper the stove hovers around 175-200 deg. I'm not really looking for more heat. The house gets warm. the only reason I care is that I'm worried about Creosote. The last thing I want is a chimney fire. What is the likelyhood that the thermometer isn't working properly or that I'm not getting a true reading? It's on the flume.

I'm burning hardwood that has been seasoned a year and a half so that's not an issue.

Hi 29,

If it takes this long to get to 275 then you have wood that is not seasoned (100%). Search "everburn" or "neverburn" there is much info. on how to get it going....

dcouture29 said: