1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Stove Temp vs Room Temp

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by jdege, Nov 15, 2011.

  1. Harman Lover 007

    Harman Lover 007 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,237
    Loc:
    Eastern Mass & Lakes Region of Maine
    It doesn't matter. Do you have your owners manual? It tells you how to do it. I'll paraphrase it here:

    Stove temp mode, dial at highest setting(7), blower on high, Feed rate at 3. Let the stove run full blast for at least 20-30 minutes. The edge of the roaring fire should come to within 1 inch of the edge of the burnpot without spilling unburnt pellets over the edge. If the pellets spill over, back off the feed rate a little. If the fire doesn't get to within an inch of the top of the burnpot turn the feed rate up a little until it does. It might take a little tweaking and you need to give the stove time to accept what you are doing if you make changes. (ESP is communicating with Control Board) I'd be very surprised if you ended up with a feed rate setting over 4. Good luck and wear your shorts and tee shirt. You'll be plenty warm while doing this!!

    Marg, this is for you...Look at the bottom of page 9 under helpful hints....
    http://hearthnhome.com/downloads/installManuals/Accentra.pdf

    Subsailor, this is for you...Page 17
    http://hearthnhome.com/downloads/installManuals/P61A.pdf

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. subsailor

    subsailor Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,439
    Loc:
    Winthrop, Maine
    How does the feed rate play into all of this? As mentioned in other posts, the stove is going to feed enough pellets to maintain the set temperature, whether it's in stove mode or room temp mode. It might take longer to get to the set temp if my feed rate is set at 3 instead of 4, but it will still maintain the set temp. Am I right or am I missing something?
  3. Harman Lover 007

    Harman Lover 007 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,237
    Loc:
    Eastern Mass & Lakes Region of Maine
    I posted the link to your owners manual above....
  4. Harman Lover 007

    Harman Lover 007 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,237
    Loc:
    Eastern Mass & Lakes Region of Maine
    Many Harman owners worry too much about the feed rate. Once you've done the procedure outlined above you can forget about it. What you say above, while technically correct, doesn't allow the stove to be at it's most "efficient" level. If your feed rate is too low, as you suggest above then yes, it will take longer for the stove to bring the room to the desired temp. On the contrary, if you have the feed rate set too high and the stove needs to aggressively burn to get to the desired temp then pellets will over feed and spill off the edge unburned and be wasted. Either way, it's inefficient in my book.
  5. subsailor

    subsailor Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,439
    Loc:
    Winthrop, Maine
    Thanks.
  6. Marg

    Marg New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Loc:
    central ME

    Thanks for this. I fixed my stove last night with the help of a Harman Tech. The chain had fallen off the auger. I then started up the stove on Auto and set feed rate to 3 and it filled up with smoke then ignited to a very high flame. It did not take long to get it to ignite. Your comments have been very helpful and had no idea that you could run it on room temp or stove temp on either Auto or Manual. I will go with your instructions and also printed them out and the pages on the manual. I do have a manual that I found online and had printed out some pages. This stove came with the house when I bought it and believe it or not the former owners burned trash in it, never cleaned it so I have given it proper care but have had problems each season with it.

    Anyway. Good info.

    marg
  7. Honda

    Honda Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Loc:
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Regarding the test of the feed rate as per Harman manual. This 1" of ash in the burnpot, should this always be the case, or is it only when doing the test to set feedrate? I have had my stove for 6 winters, always run feed on 3.5, maybe 4 on a few super cold -35c nights. My burnline has always been about 2.5" from the front of burnpot. Always curious if this is normal. I always run on Stove temp. usually between 4 and 5.
  8. Harman Lover 007

    Harman Lover 007 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,237
    Loc:
    Eastern Mass & Lakes Region of Maine
    The 1 inch line is the "set" line when doing the feed rate set. After that it may be rare for you to see the ash line that close to the edge of the burnpot.
  9. pjonthemount

    pjonthemount New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    Sabillasville, MD
    Concerning the post on 'How your Harman stove works'...Brilliant!!!
    This was exactly the info I was looking for after trying all kinds of different settings and not getting really consistant results.
    Since reading this post, the P43 is keeping the house at a nice, even temperature.
    I think placement of the room temp probe was the biggest factor.

    Burn on...
  10. Harman Lover 007

    Harman Lover 007 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,237
    Loc:
    Eastern Mass & Lakes Region of Maine
    Credit goes to lbcynya.
  11. lbcynya

    lbcynya Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    466
    Loc:
    W Michigan
    Thanks. Its been a lot of fun decoding the secrets of Harman stoves. :)

    Probably do a video next, showing stove settings and how they play out with the diagnostic tool display. This will also help squash some od the misperceptions about feed rate, etc.
  12. Harman Lover 007

    Harman Lover 007 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,237
    Loc:
    Eastern Mass & Lakes Region of Maine
    I have a good handle on how these Harman's work since I've had two of them in 15 years but that HHT diagnostic tool must be WAY COOL!!!
  13. mepellet

    mepellet Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,864
    Loc:
    Central ME
    I saw that you said that you paid good money for the diagnostic tool but couldn't find if you gave a price. Is that information you can divulge to us envious Harman owners?

Share This Page