Stove thermometer location

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

stihl044

Dec 14, 2007
north dakota
I have a Quadrafire 2100, where should I put a magnetic thermomter. I have never used one and I am new to burning wood, but as I have, read it will help in using my stove efficiently. Also, what is a good brand to purchase.

stihl044 said:
I have a Quadrafire 2100, where should I put a magnetic thermomter. I have never used one and I am new to burning wood, but as I have, read it will help in using my stove efficiently. Also, what is a good brand to purchase.

I cannot speak to your particular model of stove . . . you may want to check your manual. Some manufacturers suggest placing the thermometer on the stove top (oftentimes in the corners), other manufacturers would have the thermometer placed on the front.

You can also place a thermometer on your flue . . . about 18 inches up from the stove if the flue is single wall pipe. Double wall flue pipe requires a probe-type thermometer to get "accurate" readings.

The readings on these thermometers is often suspect. Some folks report good readings based on confirmations with other thermometers, checking with IR thermometers or by baking them in an oven at a set temp, while others say the thermometers are off. Most folks recommend using the thermometer as a guide as to what is happening (i.e. stove is running cool, chimney is running hot) rather than taking the temp reading as a hard and fast number.

As to brands . . . Rutland, Condar . . . a few names that have been bandied about.