Stove Top Thermometer

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

taweste

Sep 10, 2009
Central MA
I am new to wood burning and I just installed my stove top thermometer. Right now I am around the 500 range but the fire looks to be smoldering and I am getting smoke from the chimney. Should I get the fire burning more or should I focus on the stove temp and sit back and relax?

I have an Englander 30.

Thanks
Tim

Turn up the air, if it's smoking your not burning efficient. You still have some room to spare as far as 500 temp goes, keep it under 700.

Unless Im chilly (which I never am when the stoves at 500), I usually wait to the temp drops to at least 300 or 250 before I reload. Otherwise I'd have way too many coals in a short time and my stove top temp would end up much too high. I do have a different stove, but I don't see a huge difference in our outcomes.

Maybe your thermometer is off and ithe stove is cooler than you think?

I wonder about the accuracy of those cheap coil thermometers... I have a condar chimguard on my stovetop (left by previous owner) and Ive noticed that when it reads 600, my cheap IR temp gun reads 300-400. So either one (or both) of them is way off. Or maybe the chimguard is calibrated to estimate the internal temp of flue pipe and inst useful on the stovetop... who knows...

Search hearth.com for stove top thermometer info and temperature verification. There is a great deal about this subject.