Stove wants to over fire every night

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Revturbo977

Jun 22, 2014
Ct
im new to burning with a jotul f400. Almost every night this thing wants to take off . I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. I'll have a good bed of coals with the stove top at 350. I fill the box and let it get going for about 20 min. Then I back of the damper till it's closed . Hour later the stove is trying to push past 700 like crazy. I can't control this thing . Help!!!

Yea that seems odd that it would take off with the air choked off

Yes sir. From what I understand the air is never completely off even with the damper all the way down. It just did this again 5 minutes ago. Thankfully it burned most of the gasses in the wood out before it went past 700 and is starting to back down

how high is your stack what wood are you using how big are your splits ect?

Let the coal bed burn down a bit further for 20-30 minutes by raking forward toward the door then opening up the air 50%. After refilling, turn down the air sooner. 10 minutes should work with dry wood.

Also, what size are your splits?

You must have an incredible draft? I'm uncertain as to what else to blame unless you have a ton of bad gaskets feeding the stove air. Have you done a gasket check with it running?

I'll fill it just below the baffles . My splits are medium I suppose. Maybe 3-4 inches at their thickest

I rake them forward the best I can but this stove being kind of small, I still end up with wood on the coals .

How tall is your chimney and have you checked for leaks?