Strange odor from stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

11ultra103

Nov 8, 2018
Kempton, Pa
Hi all, I just joined after searching through articles and I could not find an answer to my question. I am not entirely new to burning wood, I've been burning wood in my garage for 10 years, my last home i had a wood/coal boiler. The boiler kind of smothered the wood and ended up starting a chimney fire. So now i have purchased a home with a woodstove in the living room as the primary heat source. I'm not ashamed to admit I am kind of nervous burning wood in the house as I haven't since that chimney fire in my old house. My stove is a smaller cfm model from 2006, 3 story 6 inch stack which runs through the living space. Last night I had the fire going good for 3 hours, put 3 new logs in and closed the door, left the air inlet completely open, the logs never burned bright, just kind of a blue flame. About an hour and a half later they had burned to charcoal. I added 3 new logs and left the air inlet completely open for 15 or 20 minutes. This time I had bright flames like normal. I closed the air inlet to between closed and half. I noticed an almost onion like smell in the house both upstairs and downstairs on the first floor where the stove is located. My fiance who was upstairs even commented it smelled like a food like onion smell. Could this be creosote from the low burning logs burning out of the chimney? Or are we just being nervous. I know what creosote normally smells like as I have cleaned my chimneys for the last 6 years by myself, and have never had an onion smell. Any help or input is appreciated