Sugar Maple Boards and Sap Question?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jimdeq

Apr 23, 2010
northeastern wisconsin
Hi all, I want to cut down about a dozen sugar maple trees for sawing into boards ,but I dont know if it's too late in the season. The neighbors are already tapping for maple syrup. We have a 4 day cold snap coming this week and if the temperature is in the teens at night and a high of 25 to 30 during the day will the sap retreat for the roots making the wood able to be cut and sawd without staining the lumber? I need some imput?

Being a maple producer, I can tell you that we are looking for the cold nights and high 30's to mid 40's for the good runs.

I cut a few maples this past weekend and the sap was pissing out of the wood (temps in low 40's). Was kind of a bittersweet moment. If you have not had any relatively warm days yet, you may be all right. If the sap has had a chance to run (the cycle I mentioned above) i would suggest you may be too late.

Good luck.

Sawmills saw maple year around. It will just have to be stickered and dried quicker. Mills ship their lumber to the kilns within 24 hours of sawing. Even lumber sawn in the winter has the potential to stain if not dried properly. Just get it stickered with nice dry sticks and stored somewhere where it can get lots of airflow and you should be okay, or get it to a kiln if you have access.

I agree. When I sawed lumber and logged, it made no difference the time of year. Cut them whenever you need them.