Suggestion on Stove Type, Esse?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Matt Andrus

Dec 17, 2012
Northern Wisconsin
Hello,
I have been a lurker here for a while, but this is my first time posting. My wife and I are going to be building a house in the spring and we are trying to make a decision on what type of wood stove that we want. Our stove will be our primary heat source in the house and we would like to be able to cook on it periodically as well. We both really like the Esse Ironheart because is has a good size cook top and it has an oven, but my only concern is that it has a pretty small firebox. Can anyone with experience with this stove tell me if it will burn for most of the night? Are there any viable alternatives that we should be looking at? An oven isn't required, but we would like to have a cooktop. Also, a glass door is important to us as well.

Our house is pretty small. It is 24x40 (960 sq/ft). There is a basement, but the living area is on the same floor as the stove. Here is our floor plan. I tried to design it so that the stove was fairly centered in the house:
35d2hys.png

If a wood stove were my only source of heat, I'd be looking at Blaze King. Okay... maybe Woodstock as well. No non-cat would be considered.

That said, if looking for a cookstove, I've seen none more highly recommended than the Esse Ironheart.

I would design the stove into the house so its centrally located and an open floor plan for easy heat flow to all of the house. (Edit: You Already Mentioned that)