Suggestions and advice

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

fran35

Jan 10, 2011
PA
I am new to wood burning and need some seasoned wood for this year. I recently ordered two cords of "3 yr seasoned oak" only to find that it is soaking wet. So, it is sitting and seasoning for another couple years. However, I am left with no usable wood and although willing to pay for seasoned wood, I am very untrusting. I found this add on local CL with photos of the wood. I was hoping a few of you coul give me some advice as to whehter the pics show if the wood is seasoned. Also, any advice on how I can find the few honest guys selling seasoned wood? After this year, I will have my own supply which is seasoning now, but I really need some wood for this winter.

Thanks
Frank

Frank, no pictures. Send me a PM if you need help on that. As for finding seasoned wood now, it would be like finding the needle in the haystack. Also, 3 year seasoned oak is not necessarily what you would think. Probably some tree that had been down for 3 year or some big logs. Then when ordered the guy cuts to length and splits. Sorry, that is not 3 year seasoned, but that is the stories you get from wood sellers.

fran35, That is exactly why I got into c/s/s my own firewood.

Shortly after we first moved in I ordered some firewood and what I was told was "seasoned oak" turned out to be wet green oak.
The next guy did the same thing to me, and finally the last guy said I had to order at least 6 cords of wood and delivered 3 1/2 cords and tried to tell me it was a "rick".