Summers Heat 55-SHP22L

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

clifftax

Feb 23, 2012
Central, NY
Well hello people. I’m a totally noob pellet stove owner. Installed and fired up my first ever wood pellet stove yesterday afternoon. After 14 hours of my first burn I shut the stove down to give a quick cleaning and to take some pictures for the board here. I do have a few concerns that maybe some of you can address.

I went through an entire 40 lb bag of hardwood pellets in 14 hours. Is that normal? The overnight setting was at 2 with the last hour set to 4-4. Not sure if this is normal but when I adjust the temp control up or down, the blower speed stays at 1, I must manually adjust the blower speed.

At start up the stove stunk to high heaven and smoked, but it wasn’t wood smoke. I think it was some type of coating within the stove that burned off because within 4 hours, it pretty much dissipated.

Is it normal to have the glass look so dirty after a 40lb burn? I mean really dirty. Pretty much black ash/soot.

Factory settings are 6-4-1 and I have a 2†steel flexible pipe for the air intake since the 2†flexible aluminum pipe was missing from the OAK along with the DVD. Within 4 hours of my email to Englanders support, I got a reply that the pipe and DVD where on their way. Now is that service or what?

The first bag of pellets was bought from TSC (Tractor Supply Company) and they are called Instant Heat 100% Hardwood.

I just finished up cleaning the unit and I’m going to put in a bag of New England Wood Pellets I got from Ace Hardware to see how they work.