summers heat/englander 55-SHPAH pellet stove heating capacity

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

whosthat

Sep 27, 2011
maine
hey all im completely new to pellet stoves, but I have had woodstoves as long as i can remember anyways I went out and bought a summers heat 55-SHPAH 25000 btu pellet stove rated for 2000 square feet.

Now I have a few problems here, my main concern is will this stove heat my entire 24' x 40' ranch with a daylight basement at around 1900 sq ft.? my house is very well insulated and i can heat it with a moderate sized woodstove (in maine BTW) both are in the basement.

secondly I have had a hell of time sealing the 3" simpson dura vent i bought from lowes. I finally have it under control after about 10 gallons of high temp silicone but it STILL smokes during start up and im worried that its still leaking CO2. I have 4' vertical rise above the stove one cleanout tee (its inside the basement) one 90 and its straight out the house. I'm pretty sure I don't require a 4" vent.

also outside air does not seem to be a problem with the 2" vent supplied the fire is not lazy in the slightest.
the simpson dura vent is leaking at the seams on the 3way tee btw, and every 90 i had also leaked but i manged to stop that.

Anyways its not to late to take this thing back I didn't spend all this money for a stove that won't heat my house or to die of co2 inhalation.
does anyone have and advice on my situation?

p.s heres a link to the stove:
http://www.englanderstoves.com/55-shpah.html