Tapping Cast Iron

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Homesteader

Sep 1, 2008
Northern Michigan
I busted the flue bolts on my Jotul118 and thought maybe I could drill the bolts out and re-tap the cast iron. Anyone good at that sort of thing? I've never used one before. Any pointers?

I know about tap and dies and I know that cast iron is harder to tap than roilled steel in that it is much more brittle. But it is easy...Piece of cake, Walk in the park, Singing in the rain. Why do you have to drill and tap it in the first place is my first question?
What are flue bolts? Never heard of them....heard of flue screws, but not bolts

Get one of your buddies with a fair amount of experience fiddling around with engines to bring some tools over and a set of E-Z-Outs & see what he can do. Don't go messing with a hand drill trying to drill the holes out bigger with the busted steel fasteners still stuck in there, 'cause you'll just do more damage. Better shot to try to retreive the busted parts of the bolts and re-use the original threaded holes with new fasteners. Oh yeah...have an appropriate thank-you gift on hand for your buddy when the old busted bolts have been retreived. Rick

What are you trying to attach the flue collar too? the stove? Or the stove pipe?

Yes... The flue collar has two bolts that hold metal strips with a hole in the center. The metal strips hold the flue collar flush to the outside from inside the stove. The heads of the bolts snapped off. One snapped off flush with the flue collar and the other protrudes about an eighth of an inch.