1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Tarm shutting down during startup

Post in 'The Boiler Room - Wood Boilers and Furnaces' started by penfrydd, Nov 6, 2011.

  1. penfrydd

    penfrydd New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    77
    Loc:
    Western MA
    Scantec (Tarm) Solo 40 once in a while shuts down during startup; usually after all the wood is loaded and there's a decent bed of coals. Once I turn the fan back on, it runs fine. I'm assuming that the exit temp is shutting down the system and that I simply need to do the start up procedure a bit longer?

    penfrydd

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Fred61

    Fred61 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,715
    Loc:
    Southeastern Vt.
    I don't know about the Tarm but my eko with the ekoster 2 controller has a "start" cycle which will shut down the boiler if it has not achieved 70 °C in a given amount of time. It's been so long since I've read the manual, I don't know if the temperature or duration is adjustable. Whatever mine is set at works fine for me. several small splits loaded to a level just above the bottom of the door opening starts going pretty fast.
  3. NHFarmer

    NHFarmer Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    290
    Loc:
    southeastern NH
    If I push it too fast I have had the same problem. Just get it going good before you load it up and you should be good to go.
  4. jebatty

    jebatty Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    4,346
    Loc:
    Northern MN
    This perplexes me. I've never had this happen, now entering the 5th heating season. I assume when you say "when you turn the fan back on" you mean that you have to reset the Solo 40, right? As best as I know this only happens when the sensor in the smoke box cools below the setting on the dial under the cover and on top of the controls. It seems odd that with a bed of coals, fire start-up, this would happen, but I suppose it could if you failed to get a good fire going, hot enough to engage the shutdown control, and then the smoke box cools down to shut off the draft fan.
  5. penfrydd

    penfrydd New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    77
    Loc:
    Western MA
    Jim, This was my assumption as well; that the fire just wasn't hot enough to keep the sensor satisfied. However, if I'm around when it happens, it certainly seems like the fire is going just fine, when I open up the door. It's not like I ever have to rekindle the fire...

    I was just wondering if others had experienced this.

    Penfrydd
  6. Fred61

    Fred61 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,715
    Loc:
    Southeastern Vt.
    From what you are saying, there seems to also be a time element in the control like my eko.
  7. NHFarmer

    NHFarmer Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    290
    Loc:
    southeastern NH
    If I start from scratch with a kindling fire, then toss in a couple of larger chunks and walk away the temps will come up and then drop off and shut the blower down if I don't pay attention to it. If you have already started a fire and have a good bed of coals it should not shutdown. What are your flue temps like when you have it shutdown?

Share This Page