Tarm without tank - maybe add later

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

MrEd

Feeling the Heat
May 9, 2008
Rural New England
Hi folks...Newbie here.

Hoping to get a Tarm Solo very soon, but as you are all well aware the tank almost doubles the cost of setup, so my plan is to get by without it for as long as I can. I've read thru a lot of the archives and it seems an awful lot of folks start without a tank and end up getting one - I am wondering if there is anyone that doesn't have a tank, and is happy to keep it that way for the time being?

The tarm is roughly $7500, the tanks brings it close to $15,000 which is a huge incremental cost. What I don't know is if what percent of my oil I will save with just the boiler, versus the boiler with tank. I use about 1100 gallons of oil per year (thats with a wood stove already saving me 900 gallons). If the first $7500 investment saves me 90% of that oil cost, then that tank investment doesn't make a lot of sense...on the otherhand if the boiler-only solution saves me just 50% of my oil cost, and the boiler+tank saves me 100% of the oil, then the story becomes more compelling....anyone shade any light on this for me?

Also, I am really struggling with the in-the-house versus the in-the-woodshed choice. In either case, (if I get a tank), the tank would be in the basement. Question is, what is the difference in plumbing setup (assuming no tank) of an inside the house versus in the basement setup? Since the outside boiler would need anti-freeze, I assume the setup would be different.