Technique questions..

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ianb42

Nov 5, 2008
NJ
Im extremely new to wood burning. Only 4 days into it. I had a stove installed last sunday and im still trying to figure it all out.

The firebox is 1.8 cubic feet. I only have an 1100 sq ft. rancher. I was told that my stove is more than big enough to heat the house.

I would like any advice on how to use my damper, air flow control, when to reload, and basically anything else that will help me out.

I usually start by using a starter log, and some small pieces of spilt 2x4's. Then once I get a decent fire going I add some small (about 10" long 2"diamter) pieces of spilt hardwood.

When those burn down and im left with coals... whats the best thing to do? reload with large logs? How much of a base of coals should I have before I load it up full? I've read that raking the coals to the front of the stove helps. And that making a groove down the center of the coals helps too. Can someone explain why I should be doing that? Like I said, im very new to this.. im 25 years old and never had a woodstove growing up.

I've read through a lot of posts on this forum, and I can see its filled with experts on this stuff. So any info will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

The best thing to do right now is to relax and tell us more about the stove and how it's intalled, the house it's in, and what you're using for fuel. Rick

The stove I have is here http://www.flame-intl.com/product.aspx?CategoId=1&Id=398