Temp of wall with 3" pellet pipe and wall thimble

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

fespo

Minister of Fire
Dec 14, 2005
South West burbs of Chicago
Hello all, As I'm new to pellet stove and have been learning alot the last couple of days. I have a question about the wall timble for my Selkirk flue. I tied to follow the installation instruction to the tee but in the supplement instruction sheet it says to cut an 6 1/4 opening whitch i did. I ran the stove today to get all the oil smell burnt out. While doing this i noticed the metal from the wall thimble was Hot to the touch, I could not keep my hand on it. So I went back to rereading the installation instructions and it say to have 3" of clearance's around the pipe, That sheet say to have 9 1/2" opening so I did. When i did cut the opening bigger tonight I rechecked to make sure there was no insulation around touching the thimble. It just seams very warm/hot to the touch on the metal thimble. Should I be worried that I did something wrong. I do have the stove much farther away from the wall then spec say to. I did call tech help at Selkirk but they said the wall thimble at 6 1/2" was ok. Im all mixed up tonight. Any help would be great. Thanks Fespo