1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Temp sensors?

Post in 'The Boiler Room - Wood Boilers and Furnaces' started by kuribo, Feb 26, 2013.

  1. kuribo

    kuribo Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    255
    Loc:
    SW WI
    What are people using for temperature sensors? Any recommendations?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. JP11

    JP11 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,194
    Loc:
    Central Maine
    Depends on what you are using them for. Just to monitor? Get a "temperature module" on this site with the cheap sensors from the bottom of page.

    want to log data? go with the x300

    http://www.controlbyweb.com/sensor_accessories.html
  3. kuribo

    kuribo Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    255
    Loc:
    SW WI
    I need some sort of well or something for those, don't I?

    Thanks again for the info...
  4. JP11

    JP11 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,194
    Loc:
    Central Maine
    Yes. I had plumber put in Ts where I needed them.. put in the well. Sensors came with a putty type stuff to coat and put in the well. You COULD strap them down to the surface and insulate over. would work fine.

    JP
  5. Coal Reaper

    Coal Reaper Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    725
    Loc:
    NJ
    i will be going the x300 route, taping sensors to tank and then spray foam over. it has relays also, 3 i believe, that i will use to turn off the storage circ pump and kick on the oil boiler if/when needed (hopefully not much!).
  6. Coal Reaper

    Coal Reaper Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    725
    Loc:
    NJ
  7. EffectaBoilerUser (USA)

    EffectaBoilerUser (USA) Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    202
    Loc:
    Michigan
    Azel makes a very nice digital temp gage.

    They have a single digital display that monitors 2 temps via. sensors that can connected up to 500 ft. away using t-stat wire.

    The sensors can be mounted in a temp well or can be strapped on (they have a concave surface so as to fit snugly against a pipe surface).
  8. arngnick

    arngnick Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Messages:
    244
    Loc:
    Mansfield, PA

Share This Page