Temperature readings...laser, traditional etc

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

FiyahBurnah

Dec 22, 2014
Vermont
So I'm new to all this and I want to make sure I'm optimizing my stove (jotul cb3). I have a magnetic temp gauge on the pipe and I got a laser temperature gauge.

Weird thing is...when I point the gauge on the top of the stove, it is generally higher than the pipe temp and depending on how far away I am from the stove the temp reading on the laser thermometer varies wildly...like from 600 degrees at 2 feet to 400 at 5 feet...

What am missing?

Here is the stove (wood isn't generally stacked there) I put it there while I was moving stuff around and stove wasn't in use) ImageUploadedByTapatalk1420319389.963212.jpgand the thermometer. ImageUploadedByTapatalk1420319337.201481.jpg

Last edited:
Most IR guns are "calibrated" at a certain distance. Mine is 12- 18 inches I believe. The further away you have the gun the lower the temp would register.

The gun uses IR technology to get the temp. (infrared) It is NOT the laser that takes the temp. The laser is ONLY for a more precise aiming point.
(you can actually turn off the laser and still get readings).

Your stove will give off many different readings depending on the area /spot on which you aim the gun. The steel has density variations and there are many other factors inside the stove that will give a lot of different readings. Find the hot spot and use that as a MAX.