Thanks Hearth.com

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

badger1968

Jul 12, 2008
Eastern Maine
Burning tonight. Nice even 400 degrees or so. Probably a frost night. I want to thank everyone who helped me.
Here's the story in pictures:
th_IMG_2124.jpg

I had to build a hearth/extension to place my Homestead on. I'm no dummy, but, I've never done this before. So, I asked the experts on this site how to proceed with my hearth. I got some great advice from Rick (aka Fossil) and BeGreen and this is the Cementious Backer Unit shot:
th_IMG_2127.jpg

Then I needed to tile that sucker, and I got some great advice from Andy99 (and a professional tile guy I happened to run into at my local Home Despot). So here it is tiled:
th_IMG_2238.jpg

Of course, after that, I grouted it. And then with some help of some friends I got the beast on the hearth:
th_IMG_2260.jpg

After a LONG struggle getting the flue and the clearances just right (thanks to Evergreen Hearth and Home, Ellsworth, ME--sorry for the shameless plug) I got everything just right:
th_IMG_2267.jpg

I know I've just started, but, damn, this is so much better than baseboards.

Again, THANKS to Rick, BeGreen, and Any99. I couldn't have done it without you.

Sit back and enjoy the warmth badger. Looks like a fine job. Enjoy!

Looks great, enjoy. You did a real nice job!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Beauty! Burn on! Rick

Again, thanks guys. Thanks for the advice and the kind words. I see a lot of beautiful homes and hearths on this site and, well, mine is kinda' "white trash." ;-)