the earth stove floor duct?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

aardeng

Feb 19, 2014
usa
i recently came into possession of an older model earth stove and it has the large round pipe coming from the bottom that i see is a floor duct. I understand you have to use this in a mobile home, i built my own home and plan on installing it . Do I have to use the floor duct if I install it ?or is there anyway i block it off or just leave it? Im very new to wood stoves they are a bit different from fireplaces....

Can you tell us more about the stove? Which model is it? Is there a UL tag on the back? Any pics of the unit?

Just as a forewarning, if the stove does not have a UL tag, many home insurance companies will not support you if you install the stove in a house they cover.

Welcome to the site

pen

Can you tell us more about the stove? Which model is it? Is there a UL tag on the back? Any pics of the unit?

Just as a forewarning, if the stove does not have a UL tag, many home insurance companies will not support you if you install the stove in a house they cover.

Welcome to the site

pen

im guessing you are asking about the silver tag on the back? it has it, its a 1000 series

I can't find a manual for the stove.

Do you have any pictures of the unit? Do you know if it has a catalytic combuster or not?

It sounds like what you are describing is a hookup for an Outside Air Kit (OAK). If that is in fact what it is, it should be left open as air would enter the stove through that.