The Gasket Question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

rottiman

Minister of Fire
Sep 23, 2009
Ontario Canada
Has anyone taken to making their own gaskets for things like the fans and burn pot? Being in the TRADES, I have had, on many occasions, had to manufacture my own gaskets. Anybody know of a reason why this cannot be done?

As long as the material is heat resistant it would not be a problem... I always have a roll of gasket material on hand for my automotive work...

I work in the maritime industry for a while and making our own gasket was the norm. There's a kit probably$$$$ that you can buy to cut circles and you can buy hole punches from maybe Harbor Freight or Napa or Shucks. I'm wondering why the Hytemp Napa RTV isn't a good choice. bjr23

I picked up a 1' x 3' piece of Lynn Sheet from a local HVAC supplier for $6. It's the same material that is used by stove manufacturer's for the fans. It's easily cut to shape using an exacto knife or razor blade.

SmokeyTheBear said:
You can get 5' by 5' sheets in varying thicknesses and temperature ratings from http://www.sealsales.com/sheet/csheet.shtml

There are tons of different ways to make your own gaskets, there is even spray on stuff, not sure how well it comes off, but it is available.

Spray-on stuff works great ONCE.

hossthehermit said:
SmokeyTheBear said:
You can get 5' by 5' sheets in varying thicknesses and temperature ratings from http://www.sealsales.com/sheet/csheet.shtml