The high cost of gasification boilers

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Jersey Devil

Dec 4, 2008
Gloucester County, NJ
Hello gang,

I'm a newcomer to this forum but I've been burning wood since 1977 and have been the owner of a Tarm multi-fuel MB 50 when I bought it from Craig Issod in 1983 so I've been around the block a little. My question is how are you guys justifying the cost of the current generation gasser systems? I just got Tarm prices from BioHeat and they honestly floored me. I don't recall what I paid for the the Tarm in 1983 but I think it was about $5500. I know prices have gone up and steel has escalated, but geez...!!! My current Tarm has a corrosion problem around the DHW coil plate but otherwise its fine as far as other corrosion. There was some slow leakage there that I just discovered. Any help or arithmetic would be helpful. I purchase my oak firewood for about $120/cord.

Mike in NJ

maybe we need to start the "oldest wood fired boiler thread" to see who beats me .....

$5500 spent 25 years ago and you think prices are high today?? If you don't go with storage you should be well under $10,000 if you install it yourself. I'd say that is some rather acceptable inflation considering material pricing trends in the past two years+...

For me burning natural gas the payback will be 5 years (or a touch less) for my EKO 40 with 1000 gallons of storage. Considering the EKO has a 20 year warranty (limited) I'd say that's not a bad investment....But I don't buy my wood....

Mike,