The Ideal Steel is loving white pine

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

JA600L

Minister of Fire
Nov 30, 2013
Lancaster Pennsylvania
This is my first year using pine. I love it. It lights off quick and makes good long heat. I'm not sure how much of that is the stove, but it really is a great firewood. This is coming from somebody with a 3 year supply of locust, oak, ash, cherry, hackberry, and mulberry.

The pine is a lot more work to process and doesn't stack as nice, but I would love to have more of it. The drying time is the best part.

My question is what are the pine/spruce variety to look for or avoid in Pennsylvania? Any that are easier to process than white pine? I split by hand.

Attachments

• 20160403_081815.jpg
    20160403_081815.jpg
    54.7 KB · Views: 128
Reactions: D8Chumley
Subscribing... I got some 1.5 year seasoned white pine I've been using at various times this season but that's the only Pine I have. Had about 3/4 cord, probably used about half this year. I also would like to get more, good stuff

This is my first year using pine. I love it. It lights off quick and makes good long heat. I'm not sure how much of that is the stove, but it really is a great firewood. This is coming from somebody with a 3 year supply of locust, oak, ash, cherry, hackberry, and mulberry.

The pine is a lot more work to process and doesn't stack as nice, but I would love to have more of it. The drying time is the best part.