The little old stove that was just burned on Sundays

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

bubba3228

Aug 30, 2011
central wisconsin
Hello all - I am new to this site and have been enjoying the posts I have read. ( although some of what I have read is not really what I wanted to hear )

I have been burning wood for 10 years or so and find it very rewarding. Recently I have decided to replace my old Johnson add a furnace with a used Vermont Castings Defiant Encore model 0028 ser.#24209 1986 stove.

This unit was purchased new by the person I bought it from and seems to be in pristine condition. It is a cat model and I have been reading some of the threads on this forum and thought for sure I was in for a bunch of heart ache and expense. However I have started to look this unit over closer and am finding the refractor and cat in remarkable shape.

Could it be I have found a true survivor I can hook up and just enjoy? I hope so. The main dilemma I have run into would be the total replacement of my current flue system. It is a Simpson DuraVent 6" class A system installed 10 years ago from the basement through the first floor and through the upper 1/2 story. I was hoping to move my basement ceiling support box up into my 1st level ceiling and hook onto it, done deal. However after reading the posts about stoves like this, I will be wise to change out my flue system to an 8".

I guess before I go through all of the expense and effort into that project I thought I would run it by some of the members here and get confirmation for my own piece of mind.