Thermometer Placement....

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by gman1001, Oct 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gman1001

    gman1001
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Sales
    Coming up on 2nd year with stove and finally bought a thermometer. Package says to screw or wire it to the pipe....

    Pipe? I thought these things went directly on top of the stove? If pipe is correct how far up? One problem I have is the pipe coming up & out of the top of my Jotul 3TD is one of those expanding units so its really kinda like a double wall pipe - which will cause misread on the thermometer...
     

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Dave_1

    Dave_1
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    gman 1001

    What type thermometer do you have?

    If you can get it at 12" above the flue outlet & on single wall pipe that is in accord with Condar:

    <snip>

    <snip>

    If you cannot you might want to check their website for a surface thermometer

    http://www.condar.com/meteruse.html

    Dave
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  3. Robbie

    Robbie
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    1
    Loc:
    East Tennessee- Great Smoky Mountains.
    I had the same problem, so I put mine on the front left, upper corner of my stove where the steel is single wall thickness. It seems to read well. I am also planning on getting a laser thermometer just for areas like like pipe etc.


    Robbie
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. Marty

    Marty
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Pittsburgh
    I think your stoves manual will tell you where they want you to read the temperature.

    No harm reading it elsewhere as well as long asif it is within range where the manufacture wants it read as well.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  5. begreen

    begreen
    Expand Collapse
    Mooderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    60,487
    Likes Received:
    7,633
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    They do. You want a magnetic thermometer to place on the top of the stove, to the left or right of center about 4 in. from the edge of the stove top.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. lizzybobio

    lizzybobio
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sears has a Craftsman infrared thermometer on sale now. $30 off. Reads up to 1,000 degrees. I've been taking readings of everything!
     
  7. Robbie

    Robbie
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    1
    Loc:
    East Tennessee- Great Smoky Mountains.
    Thank you much ! I even have a sears card................ :)




    Robbie
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  8. Robbie

    Robbie
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    610
    Likes Received:
    1
    Loc:
    East Tennessee- Great Smoky Mountains.
    I called my local sears and they have these in stock. But I forgot to ask if this was just a internet sale, guess I'll find out when I go get mine friday.

    Man, I can't wait to check my stoves temps from my recliner............ :cheese:


    Robbie
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  9. Roospike

    Roospike
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,859
    Likes Received:
    3
    Loc:
    Eastern Nebraska
    link dont work . that would be sears.com and the item # is 03450466000
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  10. jtcedinburgh

    jtcedinburgh
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Fife Riviera, Scotland
    We can't get our thermometer high enough up the stove pipe due to the fairly short length of exposed pipe - so it sits approx. 10" above the stove instead. Seems fine - I guess our readings may be a tad higher than those we'd get if we located it further up, but otherwise I can't see that it matters all that much. Am I correct in thinking this?

    John
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page