1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Thermometer Placement....

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by gman1001, Oct 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gman1001

    gman1001 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Loc:
    Sales
    Coming up on 2nd year with stove and finally bought a thermometer. Package says to screw or wire it to the pipe....

    Pipe? I thought these things went directly on top of the stove? If pipe is correct how far up? One problem I have is the pipe coming up & out of the top of my Jotul 3TD is one of those expanding units so its really kinda like a double wall pipe - which will cause misread on the thermometer...

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Dave_1

    Dave_1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    302
    gman 1001

    What type thermometer do you have?

    If you can get it at 12" above the flue outlet & on single wall pipe that is in accord with Condar:

    <snip>

    <snip>

    If you cannot you might want to check their website for a surface thermometer

    http://www.condar.com/meteruse.html

    Dave
  3. Robbie

    Robbie Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    608
    Loc:
    East Tennessee- Great Smoky Mountains.
    I had the same problem, so I put mine on the front left, upper corner of my stove where the steel is single wall thickness. It seems to read well. I am also planning on getting a laser thermometer just for areas like like pipe etc.


    Robbie
  4. Marty

    Marty Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    284
    Loc:
    Pittsburgh
    I think your stoves manual will tell you where they want you to read the temperature.

    No harm reading it elsewhere as well as long asif it is within range where the manufacture wants it read as well.
  5. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    44,495
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    They do. You want a magnetic thermometer to place on the top of the stove, to the left or right of center about 4 in. from the edge of the stove top.
  6. lizzybobio

    lizzybobio New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Sears has a Craftsman infrared thermometer on sale now. $30 off. Reads up to 1,000 degrees. I've been taking readings of everything!
  7. Robbie

    Robbie Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    608
    Loc:
    East Tennessee- Great Smoky Mountains.
    Thank you much ! I even have a sears card................ :)




    Robbie
  8. Robbie

    Robbie Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    608
    Loc:
    East Tennessee- Great Smoky Mountains.
    I called my local sears and they have these in stock. But I forgot to ask if this was just a internet sale, guess I'll find out when I go get mine friday.

    Man, I can't wait to check my stoves temps from my recliner............ :cheese:


    Robbie
  9. Roospike

    Roospike New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,859
    Loc:
    Eastern Nebraska
    link dont work . that would be sears.com and the item # is 03450466000
  10. jtcedinburgh

    jtcedinburgh New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    133
    Loc:
    Fife Riviera, Scotland
    We can't get our thermometer high enough up the stove pipe due to the fairly short length of exposed pipe - so it sits approx. 10" above the stove instead. Seems fine - I guess our readings may be a tad higher than those we'd get if we located it further up, but otherwise I can't see that it matters all that much. Am I correct in thinking this?

    John
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page